Cymraeg

Hwb

Induction

The Education (Induction Arrangements for School Teachers) (Wales) 2015 (external link) can be found on legislation.gov.uk.

The current induction guidance can be found under the document download section below.

The Education Workforce Council (EWC) is responsible for administering induction funding to schools (external link), hosting the online induction profile via the Professional Learning Passport (external link) on its website and hearing induction appeals (external link).

Induction period

All newly qualified teachers (NQTs) must hold Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) and must register in the category of school teacher with the EWC before their statutory induction period can commence and before they can be employed as a teacher in a maintained school.

All NQTs must complete a full induction period. For NQTs employed on a full time basis this is 3 school terms. For NQTs employed on a part time basis or as a short term supply teacher this is 380 sessions, the equivalent of 3 school terms. One school session is defined as one morning or afternoon of employment in a school as a qualified teacher. Schools must provide NQTs with 10% non-contact time to enable them to undertake their induction activities; this is in addition to the statutory non-contact time for planning, preparation and assessment (PPA).

Newly qualified teachers commencing induction on or after 1 September 2017

Newly qualified teachers commencing induction on or after 1 September 2017 will work to the new professional standards for teaching and leadership that was launched in Wales in September 2017.

The professional standards for teaching and leadership consist of five professional standards with overarching values and dispositions. Each professional standard is divided into elements with descriptors that exemplify the application of each standard.

The completion of induction will require evidence against all the descriptors.

Newly qualified teachers who began their induction prior to 1 September 2017

Newly qualified teachers who began their induction prior to 1 September 2017 will continue their induction using the practising teacher standards (PTS) they commenced with. Following the successful completion of their induction period, they will adopt the new professional standards for teaching and leadership.

All NQTs will receive day-to-day support from an induction mentor (previously ‘school based mentor’) and periodic support from an external verifier (previously ‘external mentor’).

If you would like further information about mentoring arrangements, please contact your consortium directly:

Central South

Mandy Esseen: mandy.esseen@cscjes.org.uk

Matthew Robbins: matthew.robbins@cscjes.org.uk

EAS

Amanda Passmore: amanda.passmore@sewaleseas.org.uk   

Deb Woodward: deb.woodward@sewaleseas.org.uk

GwE

Ieuan Jones: IeuanJones@gwegogledd.cymru

ERW

Sarah Perdue: sarah.perdue@erw.org.uk 

Related links

Estyn - Supporting NQTs using mentoring and coaching by school staff (external link)

The induction profile will form the basis of the professional dialogue between the NQT, the induction mentor and the external verifier.

From 1 September 2014

NQTs who start their induction from 1 September 2014 are required to complete the induction profile via the Professional Learning Passport on the Education Workforce Council (EWC) website (external link). Teachers commencing induction from 1 September 2017 are required to use the professional standards for teaching and leadership. Teachers who commenced induction prior to 1 September 2017 will continue to use the PTS.

Between 1 September 2012 and 1 September 2014

NQTs who started their induction period between 1 September 2012 and 1 September 2014 should continue using their original induction profile and the PTS.

Before 1 September 2012

NQTs who started their induction period before 1 September 2012 should continue to use the support materials for assessment, observation and target setting and the PTS.

Related links

EWC: Guide to the online induction profile (external link).

Newly qualified teachers commencing induction on or after 1 September 2017 will need to upload their career entry profile (CEP) to their induction profile via the Professional Learning Passport on the Education Workforce Council (EWC) website.

Effective induction is achieved through a partnership between a number of key people.

Further information on roles and responsibilities is provided in (Annex A) of the induction guidance.

All individuals offered to schools to cover teaching posts are required by law to have Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) and to be registered as a qualified teacher with the Education Workforce Council (EWC).

The requirements which need to be met by persons to be recognised as qualified teachers in Wales (and who therefore have QTS) are set out in the School Teachers’ Qualifications (Wales) Regulations 2012.

The position on who may carry out teaching work in maintained schools or non-maintained special schools in Wales is also set out in statutory regulations. These the Education Workforce Council (Main Functions) (Wales) Regulations 2015.

The regulations also set out the requirements to be qualified in order to teach and detail the activities – known as specified work – which a qualified teacher can undertake.

These are:

  • planning and preparing lessons and courses for learners
  • delivering lessons to learners
  • assessing the development, progress and attainment of learners
  • reporting on the development, progress and attainment of learners.

Where appropriate, supply agencies need to make headteachers or governing bodies aware if individuals are being sent to schools to cover teaching assistant or cover supervisor roles without QTS, so that their duties are restricted accordingly. Schools need to be equally clear on their responsibilities when clarifying the role of these individuals in the classroom.

Further advice on whether an individual holds QTS and is registered appropriately, can be obtained from the Qualification and Registration Team at the Education Workforce Council by e-mailing registration@ewc.wales

Further advice on  the requirements that need to be met by individuals in order for them to be recognised as a qualified teacher in Wales (therefore hold QTS) can be obtained by emailing teachingenquiries@gov.wales 
 
Some short term supply NQTs are registered with supply agencies. The PowerPoint presentation highlights the agencies’ responsibilities to NQTs.

NQTs undertaking induction through the accrual of short-term periods of supply teaching must evidence that they meet all the relevant professional standards by the required induction period of 380 school sessions. One school session is defined as one morning or one afternoon of employment as a qualified teacher in an appropriate setting.

Short-term supply teachers must take responsibility for:

  • completing the EWC’s Induction Notification as a short term supply form (external link) within 10 days of the start of employment and each time the NQT moves school during their induction period
  • logging all school sessions with EWC, within 10 days of completion by using the Professional Learning Passport (external link)
  • ensuring sessions are verified by the headteacher or senior leader at the school using the relevant section of their induction profile before they move on to another school
  • attending training events for short term supply teachers. These can be found on their consortia website, or by contacting their local authority induction coordinator or consortium. Details of training events/twilight sessions are also often publicised in our Dysg newsletter.

Central South Consortium

Bridgend, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Vale of Glamorgan

Mandy Esseen: mandy.esseen@cscjes.org.uk

Support officer

Matthew Robbins: matthew.robbins@cscjes.org.uk 01443 281405

Helen Williams: helen.williams2@cscjes.org.uk

Kathryn Gwyn (Cymraeg): KathrynGwyn@ygcwmrhondda.cymru

South East Consortium (EAS)

Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Monmouthshire, Newport, Torfaen

Deb Woodward: deb.woodward@sewaleseas.org.uk

Administrative queries

Amanda Passmore: business.support@sewaleseas.org.uk 01443 864963

Education through Regional Working (ERW)

Carmarthenshire

Ann James: HAJames@carmarthenshire.gov.uk 01267 246610

Carmarthenshire support officer

Adele Davies: AdeleDavies@carmarthenshire.gov.uk 01267 246659

Ceredigion

Mair Potter: mair.potter@cerenet.org.uk 01545 590683

Ceredigion support officer

Lis Williams: lis.williams@ceredigion.gov.uk

Neath Port Talbot (NPT)

Darren Long: d.long1@npt.gov.uk 01639 763990

Pembrokeshire

Heidi Reynolds: heidi.reynolds@pembrokeshire.gov.uk 01437 775019

Pembrokeshire support officer

Christine Butcher: christine.butcher@pembrokeshire.gov.uk 01437 775003

Powys

Anwen Orrells: anwen.orrells@powys.gov.uk 01686 614051

Powys administrator

Janey Haselden: janey.haselden@powys.gov.uk 01597 826715

Anne Bates: anne.bates@powys.gov.uk
 
Swansea

Sarah Loydon: sarah.loydon@swansea.gov.uk 01792 633932

Fiona Jones: fiona.jones2@swansea.gov.uk 01792 633932

Swansea support officer

Susan Williams: susan.williams3@swansea.gov.uk

North Wales School Effectiveness and Improvement Service (GWE)

Conwy

Eifion Roberts: eifion.roberts@outlook.com 07766206010

Denbighshire

Eifion Roberts: eifion.roberts@outlook.com 07766206010

Flintshire 

Helen Crich: HelenMCrich@outlook.com 01352 704019

Gwynedd

Diane Jones: DianeJones3@gwynedd.llyw.cymru 01286 679958 ext 32958

Ffion Elen Lewis: FfionElenLewis@gwynedd.llyw.cymru 01286 679958 ext 32958

Isle of Anglesey

Meinir Hughes: MeinirHughes@ynysmon.gov.uk 01248 752947

Isle of Anglesey support officer

Rachel Carson: RachelCarson@anglesey.gov.uk 01248 752928

Wrexham

Siwan Meirion: siwan.meirion@wrexham.gov.uk 01978 295441

Wrexham admin support

Barbara Sznerch: barbara.sznerch@wrexham.gov.uk 01978 295445

Welsh Government

For general enquiries relating to induction policy and statutory guidance please contact the Welsh Government’s induction team by e-mailing inductioninfo@gov.wales.