This document sets out the Welsh Government’s requirements for the foundation phase for 3 to 7-year-olds in Wales.



This document sets out the curriculum and outcomes for 3 to 7-year-olds in Wales in the Foundation Phase.

The statutory areas of learning in the Foundation Phase are:

  • personal and social development, well-being and cultural diversity
  • language, literacy and communication skills
  • mathematical development
  • Welsh language development
  • knowledge and understanding of the world
  • physical development
  • creative development.

For each area of learning the educational programme sets out what children should be taught and the outcomes set out the expected standards of children’s performance.

  • Part of
  • First published:
  • Last updated: