The Welsh Government, local authorities and Regional Education Consortia are committed to working together on a national approach to digital education technology and services for schools, aligning with the structure of the Digital Professional Learning Journey and Hwb programme. This approach will enable maintained schools in Wales to consistently exploit the transformational benefits which digital and technology can have on education.

There are two main groups that help oversee and support the Hwb programme achieve its aims.

Digital Learning Cymru (DLC)

Digital Learning Cymru is a subgroup of the Association of Directors of Education in Wales (ADEW) and is established following the merger of the EdTech Delivery Authority and ADEW ICT Groups. The group is made up of strategic representatives from the Welsh Government, all local authorities, and Regional Education Consortia. The group meets termly and is responsible for:

  • setting the strategic vision for digital education services in Wales
  • ensuring that the Hwb programme is delivering a digital infrastructure to support the Curriculum for Wales
  • ensuring that the views of all local authorities and Regional Education Consortia are considered when it comes to digital services available through Hwb
  • approving the strategic recommendations of the Technology Standardisation Group

Membership and contact details

Digital Learning Cymru representative

Lindsay Harvey - Chair

Robin Davies

Blaenau GwentJoanne
ConwyDr Lowri
GwyneddGwern ap
Isle of AngleseyOwen
Merthyr TydfilAndrea
Neath Port Talbot

Chris Owen

Darren Long

Rhondda Cynon TafTim
Vale of GlamorganTrevor

Central South Consortium (CSC)


Sarah Summers

Education Achievement Service (EAS)

Sean Powell

North Wales Regional School Improvement Service (GwE)

Gwion Clarke


Adrian Smith

Mid Wales Education Partners (MWP)

Rob Walters

Kay Morris

Welsh Government

Mike Jones

Welsh Government

Deborah Sargent  

Welsh Government

Becki Bawler

Technology Standardisation Group (TSG)

The group is a subgroup of SocITM made up of representatives from the Welsh Government and all local authorities. The group meets termly and is responsible for:

  • providing expert advice and guidance on the Education Digital Standards to ensure they remain accurate, fit for purpose and appropriate for schools use
  • providing insight to shape current and future Hwb products and services
  • working together to decide what schools’ digital infrastructure needs are, so that we can buy digital equipment and services “Once for Wales” and get good value for money that could not be achieved otherwise
  • ensuring that the national ICT catalogue for schools contains the infrastructure, devices and classroom equipment that schools need to deliver excellent teaching and learning and the Curriculum for Wales