Cymraeg

Hwb

Recording and storing videos

Through Hwb, staff have access to Microsoft 365 (M365) and Google G-Suite for Education.

Microsoft Teams can be used to record lessons.

Google Meet can be used to record lessons.

If you are planning on recording live lessons with learners please be aware of the following.

You need to know what type of license you have – an A1 or A3 as this will affect your ability to record. (see table below)

To find out which license you have:

  • ask your school’s Digital Champion, or
  • check your profile through the User management button on Hwb, or
  • visit https://portal.office.com/account and click on ‘View subscriptions’.

Your school’s digital champions can manually allocate and revoke Microsoft 365 A3 licenses within your school’s quota in the Hwb User Management Portal.

Functionality

A1 License

A3 License

Schedule a Meeting

Enabled: all recordings are saved to Chat and are automatically deleted after 21 days.

Important! The recording will be available to view and download by all attendees unless you delete it.

Enabled: All recordings are saved to Stream.

The meeting organiser can manage recordings (edit, delete or share).

Learners can view the recordings, and can share a link with another Hwb user. The meeting organiser can change this setting.

Learners cannot download a recording

Meet Now

Deactivated (due to a global Microsoft bug which prevents deletion)

Live Events

Deactivated (due to a global Microsoft bug which prevents deletion)

For further information on recording Teams Meetings, please refer to our Microsoft Teams guidance.

You need to know what type of license you have – an A1 or A3. (see table above)

If you have an A3 Microsoft 365 license

With an A3 M365 license, any recordings in Teams will be automatically uploaded to the meeting organiser’s Microsoft Stream.  As the meeting organiser you will be able to manage recordings e.g. edit, delete or share as appropriate.  Learners can only view these recordings, but can share a link of the recording to another Hwb user.

Learners cannot download a recording.

If you have an A1 Microsoft 365 license

With an A1 M365 license, any recordings in Teams DO NOT automatically upload to the meeting organiser’s Microsoft Stream. Instead recordings will automatically save to the Chat feature in the meeting and are automatically deleted after 21 days.

At all times it is your responsibility as the meeting organiser to manage recordings safely and securely. 

Warning

Please be aware that if you click the 3 dots (…) next to the video image in the Chat and select Share … this will share the recording to ALL users in the organisation. This means ALL Hwb users across Wales.

How do I restrict learners from viewing lesson recordings?

Owners of the lesson recording can restrict who can view the recording in Microsoft Stream by using the Add to group/channel option:

If your recording is in the Teams Chat:

  1. Click on the 3 dots (…) next to the video image in the Chat.
  2. Select Open in Microsoft Streams (this will open the Stream app).
  3. Click on the 3 dots (…) under the video.
  4. Select Add to group/channel.

This will bring you to a screen titled Add video to group/channels, where the owner can stop the recording being visible to learners or members of the Team:

  1. Click the ‘X’ next to the learner name or the Team name.
  2. Click Save.

Alternatively you can navigate to the video through Microsoft Stream through Office 365:

  1. Click on the Stream icon in the left vertical menu (or click the waffle in the top left of the screen, click All apps, scroll until you find Stream, click on Stream icon).
  2. Click on My Content dropdown.
  3. Select Videos (or Meetings or Groups).
  4. Click on Add to group/channel icon for the chosen recording (to the right of the video).


This will bring you to a screen titled Add video to group/channels, where the owner can stop the recording being visible to learners or members of the Team:

Click the ‘X’ next to the learner name or the Team name.

Click Save.

Please note: 

The learner or Team members will then:

  • Not be able to see the recording in Streams.
  • Not be able play the recording from the Team Chat.

For further information on recording Google Meet lessons please refer to our Google Meet guidance.

After you have finished recording you will need to wait for the recording file to be generated and saved to the meeting organiser’s My Drive > Meet Recordings folder.

An email with the recording link is sent to the meeting organiser, and the person who started the recording.

  • At all times it is your responsibility as the meeting organiser to manage recordings safely and securely.
  • Video recordings of lessons offer flexibility to learners, enabling them to access lessons at convenient times or to re-visit lessons to clarify or confirm lesson content.

Please visit Keeping safe online on Hwb to view the latest guidance on live-streaming and video-conferencing which includes guidance on recording lessons.