Statutory guidance Mathematics Programme of Study: Key Stages 2 to 4

This document sets out the revised national curriculum for mathematics in Wales.



The national curriculum applies to learners of compulsory school age in maintained schools. It is organised on the basis of three key stages:

  • Key Stage 2 – 7 to 11-year-olds
  • Key Stage 3 – 11 to 14-year-olds
  • Key Stage 4 – 14 to 16-year-olds.

For each subject, in each of the key stages, programmes of study set out what learners should be taught and, for Key Stages 2 and 3, attainment targets set out the expected standards of learners’ performance.

  • Part of
  • First published:
  • Last updated: